Pence only high-potential VP pick not on Trump’s convention speaker list

Mike Pence VP

There’s a name that’s conspicuously not on the list of convention speakers that was leaked before Donald Trump’s official unveiling of his running mate on Friday. All of the major VP candidates rumored to be on the shortlist are accounted for on the list except for Indiana Governor Mike Pence.

Oversight? Of course not. Misdirection from the campaign? Possibly. An attempt by Trump to add conservative credibility to his ticket? Most likely.

There’s a slot listed for the “VP to speak” but no name is assigned. Coincidentally, Newt Gingrich is also slated to speak the same day.

If it is Pence, some conservatives will rejoice. They shouldn’t for three reasons:

  1. The VP has no power other than as a campaigner during elections.
  2. Pence has conservative credibility, but he’s often viewed as having weak knees when the pressure rises (and it’s going to rise for any Trump VP selection)
  3. As the LA Times puts it, he’s a “yes man.” We don’t often agree with the LA Times, but this particular article is spot on. If he’s chosen as Trump’s running mate, part of the reason will be because he’s a weaker personality, a yes man, who will do whatever Trump wants him to do.

According to the Weekly Standard:

The Republican National Committee released a partial list of convention speakers Thursday morning. Among the named speakers are potential vice presidential picks Chris Christie, Newt Gingrich, Mike Flynn, and Scott Walker. But Indiana governor Mike Pence isn’t named. A colleague asks: Does that means he’s Trump’s running mate?

Here’s the list released by the RNC this morning:

  • Pastor Mark Burns
  • Phil Ruffin
  • Congressman Ryan Zinke
  • Pat Smith
  • Mark Geist
  • John Tiegen
  • Congressman Michael McCaul
  • Sheriff David Clarke
  • Congressman Sean Duffy
  • Darryl Glenn
  • Senator Tom Cotton
  • Karen Vaughn
  • Governor Mike Huckabee
  • Mayor Rudy Giuliani
  • Melania Trump
  • Senator Joni Ernst
  • Kathryn Gates-Skipper
  • Marcus Luttrell
  • Dana White
  • Governor Asa Hutchinson
  • Attorney General Leslie Rutledge
  • Michael Mukasey
  • Andy Wist
  • Senator Jeff Sessions
  • Retired Lt. Gen. Michael Flynn
  • Alex Smith
  • Speaker Paul Ryan
  • Congressman Kevin McCarthy
  • Kerry Woolard .
  • Senator Shelley Moore Capito
  • Dr. Ben Carson
  • Co-Chair Sharon Day
  • Natalie Gulbis
  • Kimberlin Brown
  • Antonio Sabato, Jr.
  • Peter Thiel
  • Eileen Collins
  • Senator Ted Cruz
  • Newt Gingrich
  • Michelle Van Etten
  • Lynne Patton
  • Eric Trump
  • Harold Hamm
  • Congressman Chris Collins
  • Brock Mealer
  • Congresswoman Marsha Blackburn
  • Governor Mary Fallin
  • Darrell Scott
  • Lisa Shin
  • Governor Rick Scott
  • Chairman Reince Priebus
  • Tom Barrack
  • Ivanka Trump
  • Attorney General Pam Bondi
  • Jerry Falwell Jr.
  • Rabbi Haskel Lookstein
  • Chris Cox
  • Senator Mitch McConnell
  • Tiffany Trump
  • Governor Chris Christie
  • Donald J. Trump Jr.
  • Governor Scott Walker

JD Rucker

JD Rucker is Editor of this site as well as Soshable, a Federalist Christian Blog. He is a Christian, a husband, a father, and co-founder of the Federalist Party. Find him on Twitter or Facebook.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

© 2017 The New Americana